Follow isocza on Twitter LinkedIn


The Internet Society of South Africa was initially formed in response to the telecommunications policy environment. We represented the interests of telecommunications users in national, provincial and local policy discussions, in the press and in any other relevant forum.

The purpose of ISOC-ZA is to serve the interests of the South African segment of the global Internet community. In fulfilling this purpose we serve all persons and entities who are in the RSA or who are interested or involved in the South African Internet community. ISOC-ZA is broadly inclusive on a regional, linguistic and racial basis and the community whose interests it shall serve is construed as widely as possible.

The objectives of ISOC-ZA are to:

  • Promote co-operation and dialogue between itself as a representative of the South African Internet community, Internet Service Providers, regulatory authorities and other interested parties;
  • Act as a spokesperson for and representative of the South African Internet community on all matters;
  • Regulate participation in and/or sponsorship of congresses, seminars and workshops;
  • Do all such things as are incidental or conducive to the interests of the members and the South African Internet community.

Members include individuals from all elements of civil society in South Africa and some from across the continent, including those from academia, government, NGOs, other public entities, large corporations, small businesses and some unemployed. Our members provide input in their individual capacities.

ISOC-ZA promotes the values of innovation, open market competition and the liberalisation of the telecommunications and Internet sectors as a means of supporting equitable development, job creation and economic growth. We also promote the use of Universal Service Funds toward the provision of Universal Services, ie getting broadband to the poor and unaccessible…

We operate as a voluntary membership association and through a list of public e-mail lists, facebook posts and groups, as well as social gatherings in the real world.

A constitution was first adopted by those present on Tuesday, 28 October 1997 when the founding members met for their first annual general meeting and the first year’s office bearers were elected.

We are a non-profit organisation, and do not speak for industry or any other vested interests. ISOC-ZA is active in areas such as telecommunications, governance, and intellectual property.

Please join the ISOC-ZA policy discussion, Facebook group, or the mailing list here, and submit your comments and join the discussions.

The Internet Society chapters have realised a succesful formula for Internet outreach and in South Africa we hosted an Internet Fiesta in 2005.

Please click here to see the 2019 ISOC-ZA constitution.

If you are interested in contributing or membership, please do join now.

Committee members ratified by AGM on Feb 28, 2020:

  • Chairperson: Alan Levin
  • Communications and Youth: Kobie Hyman
  • Treasurer: Saul Stein
  • Durban: Percy Ndau
  • Andy Rabagliati
  • Roland Giesler
  • Coenraad Loubser
  • Clive Banditi
  • Leisa Leisanyane
  • Tefadswa Zvavandanga

Previous Chairpersons:

  • 1997 – Carsten Knoch
  • 1998 – William Stucke
  • 2002 – Rosi Stevenson
  • 2003 – Calvin Browne
  • 2004 – Alan Levin
  • 2007 – Naresh Dajee

Minutes from previous AGMs:

Write a comment

You need to login to post comments!