## ISOC-ZA AGM 2017

And Internet Society 25th Birthday celebrations!

Date: September 19 2017

Venue: The Odyssey, 199 Bree St, Cape Town

## Attendees:

- 1. Alan Levin Chairman
- 2. Kobie Hyman Organiser
- 3. Saul Stein Treasurer
- 4. Arthur Goldstuck
- 5. Coenraad Loubser + wife
- 6. Andy Rabagliati
- 7. Joe Botha
- 8. Jo Eyre
- 9. Lorinda Moore
- 10. Shaun Courtney
- 11. Josiah Chavula
- 12. Amreesh Phokeer
- 13. Nick Eyre
- 14. David Robert Lewis
- 15. Nicholas Marzio
- 16. Mark Neville
- 17. Saul Stein
- 18. Christopher Geerdts
- 19. Marian Shinn
- 20. Adri Loubser
- 21. Michael Graaf
- 22. Enrico
- 23. Luke Neville
- 24. Louw Hyman
- 25. Diren Naidoo
- 26. David Savage
- 27. Rob Hunter
- 28. Graham Pitout

## **Proceedings:**

- Invitations were posted on ISOC website <a href="http://www.isoc.org.za/">http://www.isoc.org.za/</a>, our facebook page and sent to the full members mailing list 3 weeks prior to the event.
- The event was boosted on the ISOC Facebook:
   <a href="https://www.facebook.com/events/1919973821623674/">https://www.facebook.com/events/1919973821623674/</a> with a live feed during the proceedings <a href="https://www.facebook.com/ISOCza">https://www.facebook.com/ISOCza</a> -
- People arrived from 5:30pm and were welcomed with drinks and snacks

ISOC-ZA AGM 2017 2 of 3

Leaders of the community included Marion Shinn who is Chairperson of the
Parliamentary committee for Telecoms (previously acting Minister) as well as Arthur
Goldstuck a leading researcher and writer on the topic. The attendees included
people from the ISP industry, content and publishing, research, government and
higher education

- A quorum was reached for the purpose of Annual General Meeting
- All delegates viewed the special message by Kathy Brown, President and CEO of the Internet Society: <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiXAtrjhaZA&feature=youtu.be">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiXAtrjhaZA&feature=youtu.be</a>
- At 6:30pm the Chairman Alan Levin opened the meeting and presented a brief report of the past year and previous ten years of ISOC activities (http://www.isoc.org.za/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/ISOC-Celebrations.pdf)
- Many thanks were expressed to ISOC global for funding and celebrations of ISOC 25th birthday. Consensus agreement and a toast was drunk to the next 25:)!
- Various projects were discussed and agreed as priority for the future:
- WIDER project collaboration with AfriNIC, Research ICT Africa and OpenUP
- Policy review of various policies affecting Internet Society in SA
- Youth Internet Society at UCT with a view towards schools
- Ongoing communications and updates

At 7:15 the meeting proceeded with elections of new office bearers Call for nominations included:

- 1. Alan Levin Chairman re-elected
- 2. Kobie Hyman Communications new
- 3. Enrico Calandro Policy new
- 4. Luke Neville Youth new
- 5. Saul Stein Treasurer re-elected

All volunteers were cheered and supported by a unanimous vote.

The meeting was closed and the Chapter was deemed rejuvenated and compliant with chapter charter / memorandum of association.

## Photos from event:

Live video feed: https://www.facebook.com/ISOCza/videos/1465296666853347/





ISOC-ZA AGM 2017 3 of 3







